top of page
  • Writer's picturedivyasinghal

The Happiest Country: Denmark


Nyhavn

A two days trip to Copenhagen was worth remembering solo trip of my life.

Denmark is called as the happiest country in the world.  I was planning this country since I was in Europe. Finally, I made a plan to visit the capital city(Copenhagen) of Denmark. It was my first solo country trip in my life. I heard a lot about solo trips that these trips have its benefits and enjoyment. But when I did a solo trip, I found this reality. Solo trips are amazing. And Denmark is my 4th European country to explore and visit.


Departure Day: 13th April 2018

I looked like a hopeless and nervous because I was going alone in the different unknown country. I was not happy and satisfied with my decision to visit this city alone. With this feeling, I boarded the flight and landed in Copenhagen. It was cold around 10’c that day and I was coming from hot weather of Germany. But still, I was searching the beauty and amazing history of Denmark. I started my journey with the help of google map and reached The Nyhavn, the second crowdest place in Copenhagen.


This was the first view of the Copenhagen, that I captured in camera. This beautiful view gave me the excitement to explore with great enthusiasm. I took some good pictures here. And decided to visit the city on foot. I was trying to be a traveler not tourist. I spent around an hour here and then moved to the most awaited and crowded place of Copenhagen: The Little Mermaid (Danish: Den lille Havfrue). 


It has its own beauty and an amazing history. People were trying to capture this mermaid by selfies and making different poses with her. This statue is made up of bronze by Edvard Eriksen depicting a mermaid and displayed on a rock by the waterside at the Langelinie promenade in Copenhagen.


After this, I headed to the main market of Denmark and exploring with photos. I bought some souvenir for my family as a memory of Denmark. I was feeling hungry when I passed through the market. And suddenly, I stuck with one place: The 2nd oldest amusement park in the world: The Tivoli Garden. The best adventure place in Europe. 📷

The entry ticket was 120 danish crones. I was surprised with the beauty of the park. I spent 3 hours here and took some rides here. Also, I tried the Denmark traditional food: Open Sandwich.


Open Sandwich

I have never seen this type of dish in my life before so I was excited to try this time. When I tasted it, It was as good as it looks. It is a vegetarian open sandwich. Also, I tried the Danish sweet here.



Still, I don’t know the name of this dish. But it was tasty. And I finished my first day journey with this park and went to my hotel. First day was normal for me because i was not feeling excited about this trip. Even when I talked with my friend, she said the same line for me. You are not looking happy with this tour.


2nd Day 

This was really surprising day for me. I went to hotel reception and asked about city. She  advised me to join the free guided tour of the city. First, I was not in mood to join that tour. But, I joined because I was feeling bored. From the hotel, we were 6 students like mine which all are doing their masters in different European countries. As we started our journey, I talked with them. Now, this time, I set the target to make some new friends from different big countries. At the end, I made 7 international friends and I was enjoying the country. The guide was very polite and humble. She was explaining every things in details and making joke with time to time. We were enjoying the company of her. In this guided tour, I gained some interesting knowledge about the country and its amazing history. We started our tour from City Hall and finished on Queen’s Palace. And I was surprised when I heard from the guide that Today is Queen’s Birthday. Also, I tried here Seven Eleven Cafe, the coffee was as awesome as its name. 


In the happiest country of the world, I found this very happiest and amazing group. After this, I took the Boat tour of the Canal. It took one hour to see the beauty of city by boat. Also, I learnt some danish word. I am sharing some pics of my tour.

Some people were enjoying this beautiful dance of these beautiful ladies. I visited mostly in two days with good knowledge and good pictures. Also, I tried Indian food here. And, headed back to Germany.



Now, the overall experience of 2 days, I can say that this was my best trip in my life with good history knowledge, beautiful pictures and some new friends. I will suggest you to join that free guided tour and The Boat Canal Tour. It was such an amazing experience in my life to be on SOLO TRIP.


Now, I can say that I have been in this country for 2 days which is very proud for me.

tak skal du have (Thank you)

farvel (Bye)

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page