top of page
  • Writer's picturedivyasinghal

A Day In Hamburg

Everyone keeps telling me to visit Hamburg, when I moved to Germany for my master’s studies. Which is why I decided it to travel first and discover all the best things to do in Hamburg. It was my first city which I travelled in Deutschland for the first time, except my living city (Cottbus). Now, I’ve been living in Hamburg over 2 months. I moved here for my master thesis. I would love to stay in Hamburg in future.


Things to Do in Hamburg


Hamburg is a port city of North Germany which is connected to North Sea via the Elbe River. City has the largest port of Germany where everything is transported by ships, containers. Hamburg is the second largest city in Germany, after Berlin, with approximately 1.8 million inhabitants. It has many historic buildings, different beautiful design-based Churches, modern & old European architecture-based streets, and hundreds of canals, parks and green spaces. Given my love of exploring and my obsession with European architecture and streets, I like this beautiful, and Hanseatic city of Hamburg.


  • Speicher Stadt

The warehouse district of Hamburg. It is the world’s largest historic warehouse complex, located on the port of Hamburg. It has been on the UNESCO World Heritage list since July 2015. Speicher Stadt has beautiful arch and lovely canals surroundings. It was built between 1883 and 1927. There are many bridges in this complex, where you can take good pictures with the warehouses and blue sky. It has also one Photography point to see this above picture. The best things about this complex is that everything is in walk able distance. It is easy to cover the whole Speicher Stadt in few hours.


  • Elbphilharmonie

It is one of most beautiful Concert Hall in the world. The modern architecture with a glass façade was placed on the base, reminiscent of sails, water waves, icebergs or a quartz crystal. When I entered inside for the first time, there is an elevator (so called tube) to take you to the plaza, it was the longest elevator I used in my life. It took 2:36 minutes to reach the plaza. It is so eye-catching from the inside. It was opened for public in 2017. It is the best place to see the full view of the city.


  • Miniature wonderland

The miniature Wonderland is the largest model railroad layout in the world which is in the Speicher Stadt. It is the must visit place in Hamburg. It is so wide and details in terms of 15.715km of tracks of train. I spent 3 hours to explore the different automatic activities by different kind of transport in the world. It loves to see the whole world transport on a small digital layout.


  • Reeperbahn

It is the central area in the entertainment and red-light district of the St. Pauli district of Hamburg. I’ve never tried such crazy places in my life. On weekends, it is too crowd with loud music and drunk people. It includes the many nightclubs, bars and discos and famous windowless pub ‘Zur Ritze’. This is the place, where beetles performed in the past.


  • Pretty street in Hamburg


It is one of the oldest streets of Hamburg. My boss gave me the idea to visit this beautiful street. It is worth visiting as very old architecture (around 500 years old). I love the colorful houses and home goods shops. Walking around this street quickly becomes one of my favorite things to do in Hamburg.


  • Hamburger Rathaus

After visiting the oldest street, I walked towards Rathaus (City Hall) which is 112m high in tower and is an important landmark in the Hamburg cityscape. Next to the city hall, Alster lake is flowing which give the perfect picture to the photographers to capture the Rathaus. The town hall is built in the style of the North German Renaissance and is one of the most beautiful and imposing buildings in the Hanseatic city of Hamburg.


When I’m done in a day with too beautiful arch, it’s time for me to head back to home. It’s been a amazing time always to discover all the best things to do in Hamburg. It was worth it to see so much, though. I’m happy that I’m living in one of best city in Germany.


Thank you


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page